Tsaryovka village in Znamenka district was founded in 1743. In 1911, the population of the village was about 2 500 people but today there are only 95 people left. In 1743, one of the villagers, Shimov by surname, built a wooden summertime church with an altar in the name of Archangel Michael. The church was joined by a parish school. Before the revolution there was St. Michael the Archangel skete not far from the village. The wooden St. Michael the Archangel church with a three-level bell tower is still the main attraction of the village. The well-decorated church is famous for the hallowed icon of the Mother of God “It Is Truly Meet” which is kept there.
In 2008, the village outskirts turned into a movie scene where “In the Baranchikovs’ yard” episodes of “Once upon a time there lived a simple woman” movie were shot. The unique filming set built near the village cemetery imitated the look of Tambov village of the beginning of the 20th century.